FAQ

NJ DMV MUST take Temp Certif Statutes 2014

FAQ – Frequently Asked Questions NY & NJ
 
Q. Do I need a boat safety certificate in NJ or NY?      
A.

Yes.  In NJ age 13 & over for anything motorized.   In NYS it is 10  & over for personal watercraft a/k/a Jet Ski, Wave Runner, etc.) and EVERYONE born on or after 1/1/1993 for ALL motorized watercraft. 

In NYS as Jan 2022 ..  born on or after 1/1/1988.  Then as of Jan 2023… born on or after 1/1/1983.  Then as of Jan 2024 .. born on or after 1/1/1978.  Lastly as of Jan 1, 2025… EVERYONE NEEDS A CERTIFICATE.  

 


Q. LOST CARD…  OR    CHANGED MY NAME…   OR      MOVED… –  DO I HAVE TO RE-TAKE THE NJ or NY  COURSE AGAIN?
A. No and No.  In NJ the State Police (“NJSP”) issued boating safety certificates can be replaced by the NJSP Marine Services Bureau at no cost. Just ask- see below.

 

NJ DMV MUST take Temp Certif Statutes 2014

See NJSA12:7-61(5)g  below (Effective June 1, 2009)

g.  A person making application to the Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission for a power vessel operator’s license issued pursuant to section 3 of P.L.1995, c.401 (C.12:7-72) who is required pursuant to the provisions of this section to possess a certificate certifying successful completion of a boat safety course shall submit proof of successful completion of the course or the written examination for experienced boaters with the application. The chief administrator shall not issue a power vessel operator’s license to such person who fails to submit this proof. A permanent State of New Jersey boating safety certificate or a temporary boating safety certificate issued on a Division of State Police application for boating safety certificate form shall satisfy this requirement

 


The NYS Parks Department will replace card for a $10 fee.

Retaking the NJ course again will NOT get a replacement NJ card.  It will be flagged as “DUPLICATE” and NO NEW OR REPLACEMENT CARD will be sent to you unless requested via email.

TO GET AN NJ REPLACEMENT OR UPDATE CERTIFICATE CARD:
 
The NJSP prefers e-mails.  EMAIL to
NJBoatCert@
njsp.org  with copies YOUR DRIVERS LICENSE ID in .jpg or .bmp (picture) format or embedded a MS Word document

Requests must include;
1. Full legal name, in the case of a name change you must include your full legal name as it appeared on your original certificate as well as your current legal name, proof of name change (marriage certificate, etc.) .
2. Complete address, in the case of an address change you must include your old address (on your original certificate) & new address.
3. Identification and proof of address e.g., photo of DMV Drivers license etc.
4. Certificate number as it appears on your certificate ( if known).
  —->      CALL ME- WE KEEP YOUR CARD # ON FILE.  It’s part of our Student  LIFE TIME GUARANTY mentioned at class.
5.
Home telephone, daytime phone number and an e-mail address.
6. Indicate the reason for the request. (Ex: Lost, Damaged, Moved, Marital name change, etc.).  THERE IS NO FEE FOR THIS.

 TO GET A NEW YORK REPLACEMENT CARD:
A $10 fee is required.  The request form can be found at
www.nysparks.com/recreation/boating or call
(518) 474-0445


 Q.  Do I need a BOAT LICENSE too?  Can I use my pink Temporary Boater Safety Certif. at NJ DMV     THIS IS THE “B” or ANCHOR ENDORSEMENT ON YOUR NJ DRIVER’S LICENSE BY DMV.

A .
In NY, no.  The certificate CAN be shown on your Drivers License in lieu of carrying the Certificate if preferred.

 

 

In NJ – it depends.   Never needed for TIDAL WATERS(anything that rises and falls each day which connects to the ocean)   YES needed for NJ public lakes ( some exclusions).

 A NJ boat license (ISSUED BY NJ DMC) is a separate document and is in addition to the course’s  NJSP Card and is ONLY required for operation on non-tidal waters (waterways to the Atlantic) in New Jersey.

The DMV boat license is not a substitute for a boat safety certificate, it is an additional requirement ONLY for public NJ lakes with bigger motors over 9.9hp. AND waters you must carry BOTH, a boat safety certificate card and a boat license endorsement on your DL. To obtain a boat license endorsement on your DL go to your a full service NJ Motor Vehicle Commission Facility.  Persons must present proof, namely their NJ Boat Safety Certificate (or temp) to DMV to secure a boat license endorsement.
View Non-Tidal Boat Operator License Requirements  (PDF – 23kb)

NJ EXEMPTIONS IN NON-TIDAL WATERS(lakes, ponds,etc.):
A boat license is not required for non-powered vessels (sunfish, row boats,etc.).

Persons operating vessels powered by 12 vdc trolling motors or vessels 12′ or longer with less than 10 total HP are exempt from the DL license Boat endorsement requirement.

Out-of-state residents with written proof of the successful completion of an approved boat safety course(from any state)  are exempt from this too.

A boat license (ISSUED BY NJ DMC) is unnecessary in salt/tidal waters.

IS YOUR PINK CARBON “NJ TEMP CERTIF” GOOD FOR DMV?
YES.  NJ DMC must take your pink SP-421 “Temp Certificate” to have the “Boat” endorsement on Drivers License.  You do NOT need to wait for your NJSP hard Certificate card to arrive.
CLICK HERE – see last page—-> NJ DMV MUST take Temp Certif Statutes 2014

 

In NYS you may pay for “Boat” endorsement on the NY DL, and NOT carry the Certificate.  You can not do that in NJ.


 Q.  What is the minimum age to take the NJ or NY Boating Safety course?
  A.

 

 


Q.

A.

 NJ is 12 years old and NYS it is age 10.     

 

 


What are COLREGS?

These are commonly called the “Rules of the Road.” These are the compendium of maritime navigation rules (International & US).  If your vessel is 39′ (12 meters) or longer you are required to have an original regulations book onboard.
CLICK BELOW:
www.navcen.uscg.gov/pdf/navRules/navrules.pdf



What are local waterway rules for PWC’s & boats on places like Lake Hopatcong or Lake George?

These are additional special rules for certain NJ land NY lakes and rivers. Rules like:  the night speed limits on Lake Hopatcong (10 mph)  or Greenwood Lake (15 mph) and many other rules.  Or Lake George mandatory pre-launch inspections.
CLICK BELOW FOR NJ’s  NY go to website for that site:
www.njsp.org/maritime/pdf/title13ch82_040710.pdf


Are there any tuition discounts for certain groups?

Upon student upon request for ALL Senior citizens (60 years or more), ALL veterans & Seniors over 70 years old get an even greater discount.  Mention it at you in-class registration

Q.          What are good reference books for power or sailing vessels?

A               Chapman Piloting – Seamanship & Boat Handing
by: Albert & Maloney
This is the BIBLE of boating. President Teddy Roosevelt saw it was needed a 100 years ago. And these NASBLA course materials (usually nationally)  were looted from without citing them as their source.

Another GREAT nuts & bolts book is:
Seamanship Secrets
by: John Jamieson
Brief and diverse book.  A little on everything, boat rigging, anchoring to storm running.

Q.  Do you have the course in Espanol?

A. We have developed a unique NJ text book and exam EN ESPANOL.  Available no where else.  Very limited availability. CALL FOR DETAILS.